Wednesday, December 7, 2011


Macaronesia – archipelagos (five) lying in the North Atlantic Ocean near Northern Africa and Southwest Europe.
            --not part of a continent
            --islands of volcanic origin
            --subtropical to tropical climate

Cape Verde Islands (once owned by Portugal ) (Republic of Cape Verde)
Azores (autonomous region of Portugal)
Madeira Islands (autonomous region of Portugal)
            --Including Desertas Islands (autonomous region of Madeira)
               and Porto Santo Island (easternmost and northernmost of Madeira)
Savage Islands (between Canary Islands and Madeira)

Canary Islands (European Union’s outermost region)

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Southern Ocean

60 degrees south latitude in the Antarctic Circumpolar Current- surrounds the continent of Antarctica

In 2000, the International Hydrographic Organization, whose membership includes the United States, named a fifth ocean called the “Southern Ocean”.
Atlantic OceanArctic OceanIndian OceanPacific OceanSouthern Ocean (fourth largest ahead of the Arctic Ocean)

“In general, National Geographic recognizes the Southern Ocean as a scientific term and not a oceanographic feature.”
Cindy Aitken, spokeswoman for National Geographic Society¹
¹St. Louis Post-Dispatch, January 5, 2011, by Elizabeth

Accepted by:
American Meteorological Association
International Hydrographic Organization
Rand McNally (all products contain the Southern Ocean)
The World Almanac and Book of Facts, 2011 Edition